Sauerkrautrock

Trying to make sauerkraut at home has been on my agenda for a while now after running across Sandor Katz‘s book, Wild Fermentation. The Brooklyn Public Library’s waiting list for the book itself is actually quite long, so I basically followed the method he outlines in this video:

My kraut was made from a white cabbage base, with a bit of carrot and onion. I also have a smaller auxiliary batch that includes some leftover diced jalapeno. I think the cabbage I used must have been a bit old because after a good deal of kneading, it didn’t release nearly enough liquid to submerge the veggies. So, I ended up adding water after I packed it into jars so that everything would be covered in liquid.

I’ll check back in a couple days to see what sort of progress it’s making. Anybody else made sauerkraut before? Any useful tips?

Tangentially, I fell down a google hole while first looking up sauerkraut videos and then krautrock videos and found a cool BBC krautrock documentary on YouTube. Really interesting story about the development of post-WWII German pop music. FYI – there is some nudity etc. etc.

5 Comments on “Sauerkrautrock”

  1. iris says:

    exciting stuff! since i had a breakthrough with my sourdough last year i am into micro-pets! will certainly try sourkraut after having read your post, too.

  2. Dr. Evan says:

    Interesting mix. Can’t say I have tried sauerkrautrock or even want to. Looks a little fishy in the jar like that. More power to you though…

  3. iris says:

    i am so glad about your tip. the veggies are bubbling away happily in a jar in a cupboard. i used cabbage, apple, carrot, red beet (for the colour) and garlic. after only one night the smell is wonderful.

  4. Elaine says:

    late to the game, but I made some sauerkraut last year, I added caraway seeds which was super yummy (if you like caraway). The only part that made me nervous was that one of the whole leaves I had packed on top to keep the kraut itself submerged didn’t stay submerged and got gross… but once I threw that away the rest of it was fine. I’m making kombucha now too, speaking of home fermentation! Let me know if you want a scoby, I have three now.

  5. Carol says:

    I LOVE Wild Fermentation. It’s very empowering. I’ve made sauerkraut (straight up cabbage, nothin fancy) and pickles. Sauerkraut was great. Pickles not so much. One important thing I learned is that you will KNOW if the fermentation is not working because nothing in the world would convince you to eat a ferment gone bad (poor pickles). I let the sauerkraut ferment on the counter until it smelled and tasted like I wanted it to. That was about a week for me. In the fridge the fermentation slows down considerably. I learned later that my ambient temperature was too high for the pickles. Also from the book I’ve made two varieties of Te’j, an Ethiopian mead that is ready in about 4 weeks.Thank you for your awesome blog!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers