White Whole Wheat Flour (and homemade pizza)

I bought a bag of this flour from Trader Joe’s a while ago and have been throwing it in some cookies and quick breads here and there, but wanted to give pizza dough a shot.  I love our usual pizza dough recipe, but thought the mighty Google search would yield something different.  I course, a recipe from 101 Cookbooks came up and I had to try it.

I don’t know if it’s because I didn’t let it rise overnight, but the dough was just “meh.”  I was able to actually able to throw the dough instead of using a rolling pin, which was fun, but the taste was underwhelming and the crust was a little too chewy for me.  Regardless, the pies we made were gorgeous.  One topped with lacinato kale salad and thinly sliced potato, another with tomato sauce, caramelized onions and goat cheese and then a classic pie with olives.  Nothing like a homemade pizza night!

Caramelized onions and Goat Cheese PIzza

One Comment on “White Whole Wheat Flour (and homemade pizza)”

  1. Lugsy says:

    We love Jim Lahey’s no-knead pizza dough for our Pizza Nights; I have gone from all-white to half-whole wheat to all white whole wheat crust, and we really like them all. I personally love the taste and texture of “true” whole wheat, but the white whole wheat is a delicious middle ground for me & my husband, who will eat any of them gladly but ultimately prefers the white crust. In any case, you are correct, though – pizza night at home is the best!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers