Banana Blueberry Bread Pudding

BBB Pudding

One of my favorite things to make in the winter is my variation on a bread pudding.  I take stale bits of bread that we haven’t eaten throughout the week, some fruit, milk, eggs, sugar and spices and make something that is good enough for dessert and healthy enough for breakfast.

There is no rhyme or reason to this bread pudding.  It really is ripping apart pieces of stale bread (2 rolls) and placing them in a 9×9″ baking dish.  I then blend a mixture of milk (maybe 1.5 cups?), 2 eggs, 2-4 tablespoons sugar, healthy pinches of cinnamon and allspice and maybe a few tablespoons of plain yogurt if we have some, a small pinch of salt and a tablespoon or less of oil.  I pour this over the bread, mash in 2 bananas (with clean hands), mix in some blueberries and slivered almonds, make sure everything is soaked, top with some brown sugar and bake at 375F until the top is golden brown.  You can use any type of fruit, lesson the sugar, use honey or maple syrup instead and I’m sure it will turn out just fine.  Experiment!  It’s just stale bread.  This is great to make ahead – just let the bread soak in the milk mixture over night and then bake in the morning.

8 Comments on “Banana Blueberry Bread Pudding”

  1. susan says:

    Oh boy…this one looks amazing! I can just imagine how that smells baking.

  2. Charlotte says:

    Oh that looks gorgeous! I might have to try it just because of that picture xx

  3. kelley says:

    MMMMM !!!!!!! grew up eating bread pudding!!!! Love it!!!

  4. Oh, gosh, this gives me some inspiration!

  5. Eric says:

    I just had some of the most uninspired, dry, not-so-good bread pudding at a restaurant last night. Bitter disappointment! I might have to sate craving with a homemade version.

  6. Mohab says:

    …Sounds lolvey! I may have to try it with bananas and chocolate too!The Dinner Belle for Kimberlybelle.com

  7. lindsay bryan says:

    Thanks for sharing this recipe! I just made my first one with the leftover bits of home made bread that normally go in the garbage!! DELISH!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 291 other followers