Apple and Olive Oil Cake

Apple Olive Oil CakeCake

Intrigued after reading this article, I decided to search the web for a few of Chef Ottolenghi’s recipes to try out before deciding to buy his latest cookbook.  I found his Apple and Olive Oil Cake via More Than Burnt Toast and made it the other night – DELICIOUS!  Thank you internet, I think I may buy his book now.

I made a few changes to the recipe – namely I just used 3 whole eggs instead of the egg white route and used homemade vanilla extract instead of a vanilla bean.  Maybe the cake would have been fluffier with the egg whites, but it rose well enough for me.  I also only used 2 large granny smith apples and felt that was enough with the amount of batter.  The topping was just some coconut I sprinkled on before popping it into the oven and it only needed an hour of baking time.  The cake is moist and light – surprising because of the apple pieces.  Perfect with tea or even for breakfast!

One Comment on “Apple and Olive Oil Cake”

  1. [...] the original: Apple and Olive Oil Cake | 30 Bucks a Week Tags: after-reading · apple · before-deciding · buy-his · [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 294 other followers