Slow Cooked Baked Beans

When I came across this recipe from the NY Times, I was immediately intrigued.  Beans, kale, tomato sauce slow cooked in an oven for a couple of hours?  SWOON.  The recipe is extremely easy and adaptable.  I did not have the bouquet garni or the herbes de provence and winged it with what we had in the pantry.  I thought that a grating of pecorino would also go well with the breadcrumbs as a topping and the salty flavor of the cheese melded deliciously with the sweetness of the beans.  I also note that I bought the tomato paste and celery with leftover money from last week that we did not document.  We came in under budget, but I forgot to mention we bought some onions, tomato paste, celery, red cabbage and small cucumbers for about $9.

4 Comments on “Slow Cooked Baked Beans”

  1. That sounds so good! I love baked beans, and kale! I have lots of both… hmmm. Yum! :)

  2. Ali says:

    How was it? And how much dd it make? I’ve got this on my list of dinners for next week, and am excited to try it!

  3. Sarah says:

    That looks fantastic. I wonder if my not-quite-a-fan-of-kale husband would like it? I guess I’ll just have to try and find out! :-).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 292 other followers