Burger Buns

To go with the aforementioned veggie burgers, I made hamburger buns.  Part of a self-imposed “let’s try not to buy bread at all during the month of November” challenge, these buns were a delicious hit.  I followed the King Arthur’s Flour recipe to the letter and suggest you do the same.  You can find the recipe here.

 

4 Comments on “Burger Buns”

  1. Daisy Mae says:

    I haven’t bought bread at all in 2010. I did buy a Zojirushi. And I used it a ton this summer – since I never wanted to put the oven going. But now that it is cooling off again and I’m baking homemade bread again, I’ve come to realize that I don’t like the crumb/texture of the bread machine bread. Plus, having a stand mixer, it doesn’t take much additional effort to make the bread, let it rise and bake it.

  2. Whoa, this looks delicious. I’m still trying not to burn water, but maybe someday, I can get to this level.

  3. great idea! I’ve been baking my own bread lately too, but hamburger buns are the one thing I’ve still bought at the store on occasion. I’ll try this recipe next time instead :)

  4. Cinthia says:

    Love your blog and must say that I drool while reading your grocery list. A pound of carrots for 51 cents! I almost moan in pleasure. Here in the semi-remote Alaskan town where I live, carrots are $3 , and one green pepper is $2.89. One pepper! (And the produce ain’t that fresh either, sigh, sigh.) So I read your blog and dream of fresh, reasonably priced veggies as I slice the wilted cucumber that I paid $2 for, on sale.
    Thanks for the inspiration!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers