Red Quinoa with Butternut Squash

Okay, so I delayed quite a bit in posting this dinner from last week. We had some butternut squash that a friend brought over. Tina roasted it up with some olive oil and rosemary and then set it aside for later use. That use ended up being as accompaniment to some red quinoa. I sauteed some onions in olive oil, then added the quinoa, that was cooked with salt, pepper, and cumin, plus the squash, fresh parsley (diced) and some slivered almonds.

One Comment on “Red Quinoa with Butternut Squash”

  1. Danielle says:

    Hey, I found your blog via Cheap Healthy Good, and I’m really enjoying your posts. I’m also young, living in Queens, mainly vegetarian, and trying to keep a trim food budget (I buy pantry stuff in bulk and just grocery shop for perishables).

    I had a question about quinoa. I’ve wanted to try it so badly, and it’s ridiculously easy to get where I live (it’s very popular in Peruvian cuisine, and there’s a variety of people in my neighborhood). Even after rinsing it like the package stated, it still had that soapy taste, yuck! I felt like I said a bad word and I was a kid again.

    What do you do to get your quinoa nice and saponin-free?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers