“Steakhouse” Dinner

Playing with the idea of a “steakhouse” dinner with the bounty from Chinatown, we made some mashed Japanese sweet potatoes, smoked tofu “steaks” and a side of greens (in this case, not spinach, but bok choy).  Delicious!  Japanese sweet potatoes are definitely sweeter than the usual yams and almost taste like chestnuts.  I’m very excited to try using them in a sweet potato pie for Thanksgiving.

9 Comments on ““Steakhouse” Dinner”

  1. susan says:

    i got scared when the title came up…

  2. Juno says:

    mmm, smoked tofu is soo good!

  3. Heather says:

    This looks terrific! I am still having trouble finding smoked tofu.. :(

  4. Juno says:

    @heather – ask your grocery store to stock it : )

  5. Heather says:

    I’ll go give it a try. Can’t hurt to ask!

  6. stacie says:

    Hey, Tina! This meal looks so fantastic–I really love the idea of the Japanese sweet potatoes. I’m on the lookout for them. Anyway, I am so in love with this site of yours; I can’t wait to see what you whip up for Thnxgiving!! Happy Holidays!

  7. Heather says:

    I am in The Woodlands, TX. We have a great market down the street called Hubble and Hudson. I know the owner so I thought I’d give it a shot and ask him to carry it. They already have loads of vegetarian items..just no smoked tofu. We’ll see! ;)

  8. Rachel M says:

    oh, i love japanese yams. the idea of them in a sweet potato pie is amazing!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers