Rice Noodle Stir-Fry

Grabbed some items from Chinatown (smoked tofu, Chinese spinach, baby bok choy and fresh rice noodles), which brought our weekly budget to $23.36.  Tonight’s dinner was a stir fry with rice noodles and stir fried bok choy, Chinese spinach and fresh corn with soy sauce and homemade spicy oil.

5 Comments on “Rice Noodle Stir-Fry”

  1. Jenny says:

    Wow, smoked tofu. I’ve gotta look into that. Sounds really good.

  2. Heather says:

    Your pic looks yummy! I would love the recipe. I am new to your blog and looked around a bit to see if you had it on here. Don’t worry about it if you are too busy..I can give it a try. Now off to my local specialty grocery. Hopefully they will have the smoked tofu! :)

    Thanks for sharing!
    Heather

    • tinaspins says:

      Hi Heather. It came together pretty quickly and easily – here’s what I did.

      Boiled water and added the fresh rice noodles for 2 minutes. Drained and rinsed with cold water and then put some spicy oil and a bit of soy sauce on top and stirred it around.
      Heated up some spicy oil (sesame is fine too or whatever you have around) and added about a tablespoon of chopped garlic and let it brown. Then I added the chopped greens (about 1.5 pounds), hot sauce and soy sauce and a bit of lemon juice and let that cook down a bit. Then I added the corn kernels from 2 ears and the smoked tofu and heated everything through. Noodles in bowl, vegetable mixture on top and voila – dinner! Add some more hotsauce if you like.

  3. Heather says:

    Thank you very much for the recipe. Unfortunately my grocery didn’t have the smoked tofu. I will look around some more. Any ideas? I did get regular firm. I am new to all of this (vegetarian cooking) so I am bumbling around a bit. I am so glad I stumbled on your blog. You make it look easy! Now I want that cake! Yummy!

    Thanks again!

    Heather

  4. cooksalliance says:

    Wow, Looks fabulous again! I don’t know how you do it but you are a great cook and budget minded too. I started waiting till the last hour at the farmers markets when they discount everything and its working. My whole family does this now and we love to get the best bargains for the buck. Keep up the great work. Its helping me so much, I am just inspired!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers