Eggs Unnamed

After starting to saute some veggies (onion, Italian frying peppers, and tomato) to serve over barley, I realized the meal was a little short on protein. I had just added a giant heirloom tomato (from a colleague’s garden) to the pan and there was a good quarter-inch of juice in the bottom of the pan. I just threw some eggs in on top, covered the pan, and let it cook for a bit. Ended up with some partially tomato-juice-poached, partially fried eggs with plenty of tasty veggies.

Not sure if this resembles any common recipe, but it was tasty for sure.

7 Comments on “Eggs Unnamed”

  1. Kate says:

    I make something similar, love the tomatoes and eggs combo. Sort of like piperade.

  2. Mari says:

    1) There’s a dish called Eggs in Hell where eggs are poached by baking in a spicy tomato sauce. It’s wonderful.

    2) Is that cast iron? I have recently acquired several cast iron pans and all the directions that came with them say to NEVER cook tomatoes in them… but I see pictures of people cooking tomatoes in their cast iron all the time. Even last month’s Bon Appetit magazine had an upside-down tomato tart cooked in cast iron.

    What do you think of the tomato/cast iron axiom?

    • P says:

      I’m actually not familiar with the cast iron/tomato axiom. However, this pan was a non-stick skillet.

      Eggs in Hell: intruiguing. My eggs could have used a little spice.

  3. Jennie says:

    That sounds a lot like the middle-eastern dish Shakshuka… always one of my favorite dishes (to eat and to say) in Israel!

  4. biz319 says:

    It looks like a frittata to me – no matter what you call it – looks delicious!

  5. susan says:

    persian/iranian food have a similar dish only its onions tomatoes and eggs….no peppers

  6. I make something similar! I ripped off the recipe from Sarah Brown’s World Vegetarian Cookbook and totally adapted it. Sometimes, if I have some beans kicking around that need to be used, I will, obviously do so with the beans. This is one of my favourite dishes to make!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 293 other followers