Clementine Tea Cake

Inspired by the beautiful women over at We Like to Cook and Eat and clementines that my mom was going to throw out this weekend, I decided to make a quick bread with their “Clementine Muffin” recipe.  I assured my mother that the clementines would be perfect for me to take, even though they were past their prime.  At home, I modified the recipe a bit since we didn’t have some of the ingredients and it came out tasting wonderfully.

Clementine Tea Cake

Ingredients

  • 4 clementines
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup vanilla simple syrup or 1/3 cup simple syrup with some vanilla extract mixed in
  • 1/3 cup of cooking water (I will explain below)
  • 1 banana
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup oat flour (I processed about a cup of oats to make oat flour)
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • sugar in the raw (turbinado sugar) – a few tablespoons or packets

To Do:

  1. Boil the clementines in plenty of water for about 45 minutes.  Do this while you make dinner if you like.  At some point preheat the oven to 375F.
  2. Remove the clementines and save the water they boiled in.  Process the clementines in a food processor, scraping down the sides after a few pulses to get a smooth paste.
  3. Add the banana, eggs, sugar, simple syrup, 1/3 cup of the clementine cooking water and the oil.  Process it all!
  4. In a large bowl, mix the dry ingredients.  Make a well in the middle and add the liquid ingredients.  With a few swift strokes, mix everything together until combined.  Do not over mix!
  5. Place in a greased and floured loaf pan.  Sprinkle with some turbinado sugar for some sparkle and bake for about 40 minutes or until golden brown and a toothpick comes out cleanly from the center.
  6. Let cool and eat for breakfast, snack, tea-time or dessert.
9 Comments on “Clementine Tea Cake”

  1. Daisy Mae says:

    I just boiled up 5 clementines this morning – so I can make this tonight! I’m also planning on making it as a tea bread instead of muffins – so now I have your baking time as a starting point!

    • tinaspins says:

      Let me know how yours comes out!

      • Daisy Mae says:

        Flavor is wonderful. However, I think I ended up with way too much clementine puree – I didn’t measure it – so the bread is *way* *too* moist. So next time I will measure the puree and limit it to 1 cup.

        The recipe is definitely a keeper.

  2. Love muffins!! Looks delicious : )

  3. Melissa says:

    This sounds amazing! Can’t wait to try it!

  4. Jenean says:

    Isn’t it DELICIOUS? We have some boiled and pureed blood oranges waiting for us in the fridge which will hopefully be muffins soon. XO.

  5. tinaspins says:

    It is super good. I am actually eating my afternoon slice right now! Mine isn’t too sweet, same for you guys?

  6. Elaine says:

    Yay! Yes, not too sweet, it’s just right, really. You don’t feel like you’re eating dessert. and the citrus flavor is so good! I’m planning on making the blood orange ones tonight, as muffins just because it makes them so portable. The tea bread looks awesome.

  7. Sandy says:

    It took a few days to get to this recipe as we were smack dab in the middle of a guava cake. Finally made it this afternoon and have just had a slice, which was just right – citrusy and not too sweet.

    I cut it in half, trying to snack like an adult, but ended up spreading a little lime curd on the second half. No excuse for this non-adultlike behaviour.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 292 other followers