Pa Jun

A friend used to make these quite often and we loved them.  After an intense weekend gallivanting around Brooklyn, we wanted something simple and delicious for supper on Sunday.  I have had a small bag of rice flour in our freezer for, umm, I really don’t know how long, but I read online that it doesn’t go bad, so I decided to make some Korean pancakes (Pa Jun).

I used the following recipe from the NY Times, but want to note that I added a bit more rice flour to the recipe as the consistency seemed weird.  I could have also have been overzealous in the ice-water department, so I would play strict attention to proportions.  Nevertheless, the results were delicious and something that I am going to be making as hors d’oeuvres for future parties because they are a) simple; b) delicious; c) you can roll them up into bite sized pieces and d) serve with a variety of dipping sauces.

Sidenote: We want to apologize for not putting last week’s receipt up yet.  It has gotten lost in the shuffle, but we spent about $34 since we only spent $25.88 last week.

Pa Jun (recipe adapted from the NY Times)

  • 2 teaspoons vegetable oil [Tina: I used less]
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour or rice flour [Tina: I used rice flour]
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt [Tina: I also threw in some fresh black pepper, red pepper flakes and garlic powder]
  • 1/2 cup very finely chopped vegetables (asparagus, broccoli, green beans, scallions) [Tina: I used red pepper and carrots]

To Do:

  1. Fill a measuring cup with ice  and 1/2 cup or more cold water; set aside. Place a small (8-inch) nonstick or well-seasoned skillet over medium-low heat. Coat bottom with vegetable oil and allow to heat.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk eggs just until frothy. Add flour and salt and whisk to combine. Add vegetables or meat and stir to blend. Add 1/2 cup ice water and mix again to blend. [Tina: I thought I just put in 1/2 cup of ice water and felt that the batter thinned out way too much, could just be me though]
  3. Fill a 1/2-cup measuring cup with batter; pour into hot pan. Allow to sit until browned and crispy on bottom, about 2 minutes. Flip pancake and cook another 2 minutes. Place on a serving plate and keep warm (or set aside to serve at room temperature) [Tina: I placed in a 200F oven]. Repeat with remaining batter. Serve with dipping sauce, tearing or cutting off pieces of pancake to dip in sauce with fingers or chopsticks.
  4. Yield: 2 to 4 appetizer servings (3 pancakes).
2 Comments on “Pa Jun”

  1. Dave says:

    I love your blog! I was wondering what kind of sauces you enjoy serving with these. I’ve never had them. Thanx for such great inspiration!

  2. tinaspins says:

    A mixture of soy and ginger is good with these, as is lime-juice and soy….get creative!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers