Black Bean & Sweet Potato Chili

chili 009

I first came across this flavor combination as a burrito fulling in the Moosewood Restaurant Low-Fat Favorites cookbook. It came across my mind the day after camping because we had a sweet potato in the pantry and black beans that I had cooked and frozen the week before.  We also had crushed tomatoes leftover from something Phil had made the other week and part of a chipotle.  All of those ingredients screamed CHILI!

We loosely based the recipe on this one, but added chipotle and some habanero peppers instead of the chili powder they called for.  I think Phil threw in a crumbled veggie sausage too.  Served with some homemade cornbread muffins, this was a tasty chili!  The sweet potato added a nice creaminess to the dish that cheese or sour cream would have normally supplied (much cheaper and definitely less fattening) and the peppers provided some great heat. Maybe not so good for the summer months, but one to keep on the back burner.

4 Comments on “Black Bean & Sweet Potato Chili”

  1. What a great idea. Sweet potatoes in chili. I will definitely try this.

  2. tinaspins says:

    It is SO GOOD.

  3. CurlyTop says:

    Tina,

    Hi! I found your blog through Gena’s blogroll and I’m having so much fun looking through your past posts. Honestly, I am so enthralled with anyone who can eat beautiful food for so little cash. You are my new hero!

    As an experiment I took on the family grocery shopping (I’m 19) for the summer and kept all four of us fed for under $50 a week. It was actually very educational!

    Have a gorgeous night sweetie!

    With Love,

    Emily

  4. foodcreate says:

    Delicious! I love beans good fibre!
    Thanks for sharing:)

    And you can visit me if I can visit you:)

    Welcome!
    foodcreate.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 294 other followers